Au Lecteur

The 1000km Cycle Challenge

Posted in Cycling by aulecteur on March 27, 2012

Last year I cycled well over 1000km. On average, my cycling season is about May to mid-September. Let’s say it’s a 6-month season. In 2011, I signed up for the Cycle for CARE Vietnam fundraiser. It was a cycling trip across Vietnam from Ho Chi Minh City to Hanoi to raise money and awareness for CARE Canada and the work they do internationally to empower women and girls and end poverty. It was to be 400km.

So, the kilometers in Vietnam, plus all of the training we did to prepare and general bike commuting – I definitely rode over 1000km last season.

The Math

350km in Vietnam (this is probably closer to what we actually ended up riding. I’ll update when I check my ride log)

+ 120km to the trailer (would have been 240km if my tire hadn’t exploded and kept me from riding back. phooey)

+ 200km to Carleton Place (100km roundtrip x 2)

+ 120km to Stittsville (60km roundtrip x 2)

+ 320km (8km everyday I rode my bike to work – conservative estimate: 40 days)

+ 100km general commuting and non-distance riding estimate

1,210km TOTAL

Followed by Team Tiger as we cycle across Vietnam!

I don’t think any of my numbers above are exaggerated. 1000km in a season is totally doable.

How I Will Ride 1000km this Cycling Season

I’ll get a new bike computer to track my kilometers. The challenge will begin mid-April.

I’ll enlist fellow cyclists to share my challenge and ride some of these 1000 clicks together.

I reserve the right to modify this challenge upwards in kilometers at any point, but not downwards.

1000km / 26 weeks = 38.4km per week

Bring it on.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] When my friend Joel posted on his Facebook that he challenged himself to run 1000km this year, I thought, what the hell and challenged myself to do the same, but cycling. Read about it here. […]

  2. […] When my friend Joel posted on his Facebook that he challenged himself to run 1000km this year, I thought, what the hell and challenged myself to do the same, but cycling. Read about it here. […]


Leave a Reply

