Au Lecteur

A Rancho Relaxo Birthday

Posted in Quirks by aulecteur on April 16, 2012

I’m turning 29 this year. I know it’s not a big deal, I’m not worried about getting old or anything, but something about 29 is sticking me in the side.

29 – the end of your twenties. Only people with regrets would mourn the loss of their twenties. I know what’s ahead. I know that you don’t just turn 30 and hit maturity. That’s what’s happening though, I’m maturing. I’ve noticed I’m thinking about the future more, worrying less about the past. I’m trying to identify and correct destructive habits, patterns, and behaviours – mostly in my career though, and I know I could stand to be stronger in this area when it comes to my personal life.

Maturity Goats (via: Anita K!)

While living in Iqaluit, a couple of us took a long-weekend trip to Pang to hike and camp above the Arctic Circle. The sun set behind the mountains for 1 hour a day.

I realize I’ve dug a bit of a trap for myself by openly stating that I feel 36 will be a good year for me.

I started to say it when I was 27 and looked back at 26 as a good year. I always felt 26 was going to be a banner year and it was. I had a truly memorable summer living in Iqaluit, toured around Paris by myself for nine fantastic days, and had a great final year of school that ended with me starting a great job that I loved.

Me! Working! Background: 13th floor view of Parliament Hill.

So, 26 was pretty great, but I can’t just wait around for 36 to deliver. I’m pretty sure I have to set myself up for success, as some motivational poster somewhere says. I’m not 100% sure how I’m going to do this yet, but I think it starts with saying goodbye to my twenties.

No regrets. No regrets for what I did or didn’t do, try or didn’t try. No wishing for do-overs. No contemplating answers to the question ‘If you could go back in time and change one thing…’ Fuggedaboutit.

This year for my birthday, I’m taking a staycation at Rancho Relaxo like I’ve always wanted. On Friday of my three-day birthday weekend I will go for a therapeutic massage followed by a relaxing bubble bath with a hot fudge Sunday, a bottle of Tequila, and Thelma and Louise.

This birthday staycation was inspired by Marge Simpson.

Leave a Reply

