Au Lecteur

On Blogging

Posted in Quirks by aulecteur on May 16, 2012

See, this is why I didn’t want to start a blog in the first place. It’s been weeks since my last post.

Actually, that’s not true. There are 4 or 5 saved in drafts but they’re the type of blogs that I might not want to have everybody read. Unlike my Livejournal days when the Internet and I were young(er). In high school and college I wasn’t thinking about my online presence beyond the gratification of amassing a double digit amount of comments on a post. Now I get that gratification from Facebook – thank you, lovelies.

Facebook is private though. On Facebook, I know who I’m talking to. They’re my friends so obviously we have something in common, see eye-to-eye on at least some things. My thoughts and opinions exist in somewhat of an echo chamber. It’s a safe place.

This “blog” thing is very much public. I don’t know who’s reading (if anyone) or who will read it in the future.

I put off starting a blog for awhile. I wanted it to have a theme and a purpose; I wanted it to fit into a category.

But I don’t fit into a category, do I? I’m a méli-mélo of thoughts, ideas, inspirations, and stream-of-consciousness.

I wanted my posts to be researched, referenced, relevant, and timely. I wanted to blog about important things that I care about.

But I’m important, and I care about me.

Me, me, me. Sounds like I should be keeping a diary, then doesn’t it? But stay with me for a minute here.

One thing that I care deeply about, one thing I value and admire, is unapologetic self-expression. Artists who dedicate their lives to expressing their vision, people who follow their passions and are successful beyond imagination, those who embrace their true selves and live out loud wanting only to belong to a community of like-minded people if the rest of the world won’t listen.

I learned some time ago that I procrastinate because I’m a perfectionist with a fear of failure. At some point I heard the quote: “I might not be a rose, but I’m a damn good carrot.”

a) I’m not perfect. Perfection is a fallacy. It doesn’t exist.

b) The only failure is in not trying.

So here’s a blog post. Take from it what you will, I will give you that. What I won’t give you is perfection or failure.

“I’m a perfectly good carrot that everyone is trying to carve into a rose. I have good color and a nice, green, leafy top. When I am carved into a rose, I wither and turn brown.” -Reviving Ophelia

Leave a Reply

