Au Lecteur

Ten Years Gone

Posted in 30x30, Quirks by aulecteur on June 25, 2012

I don’t blame myself for the idiotic things I did when I was 19. Ten years gone and I hope I’m a little wiser.

Your twenties are not easy. They’re a time of maturation, of learning, of colossal cock-ups. At the end of it, they say, you should have plenty of regrets. And in your thirties and beyond you will know those missteps and moments of terribly poor judgment didn’t really matter all that much, really.

You know how I know I’ve come a long way baby? Tonight while sorting through the mountains of crap I’ve hoarded in the last decade, I found your mix cds. For those few months back in 2002 when we were really getting along and you wanted to share with me how cool you were and made me a tonne of mixes full of crap I never really liked? Really, horrible crap. Waste of blank cds and the petrol it takes to make plastic.

I threw out your mix cds.

And I laughed to myself as each one hit the trash.

Ten years gone.

Then as it was, then again it will be
An’ though the course may change sometimes
Rivers always reach the sea
Blind stars of fortune, each have several rays
On the wings of maybe, down in birds of prey
Kind of makes me feel sometimes, didn’t have to grow
But as the eagle leaves the nest, it’s got so far to go

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mjb said, on June 26, 2012 at 6:25 am

    hahah! ❤

  2. aulecteur said, on June 26, 2012 at 7:45 am

    I kept every single one of yours, mjb!

  3. 20sdiaires said, on July 24, 2012 at 5:26 am

    love this.


Leave a Reply

